My Dear Child


My dear child
Your father is tired, yet need to speak with you
My child, I am growing old, and I still need my strength
Strength to hold you and encourage you
To keep you and to feed you
To pray and to love you

My dear child,
Life is a mission
A mission that has a beginning and the end
Learn to listen to your parents and elders
Yet, find your own voice in the good deeds of the world

My dear Child,
My world is ending and yours begin
Whether in this world or the next
I shall thrive in the proudness of being your father
I shall smile knowing I have done my purpose

My dear Child
Know your ways and believe in yourself
Never forget what we have taught you
Most importantly trust your own thoughts
Learn to listen to yourself before other
Respect yourself before you extend to others
Charity begins at home

My Dear Child,
I shall do whatever possible 
To create a future for you
But remember, I can only do so little as you begin to find your own.
Remember my child, to live fully and to thrive
The world is nothing but a path to your own greatness

My dear child,
Your father is tired, and he need his rest
Thank you for being a good child to your mother and I
Now show those values to the world
And it shall be well.
Sleep well my child, your father goes to bed.

NB: On this vallentine's day, this poem is dedicated to my children Casey, Caitlyn and Cierra-Idda.

Written by Felix Massinda (14th February, 2022)


Leave a comment